Skip to main content
Award December 7, 2022

Code of Silence Award for Outstanding Achievement in Government Secrecy

The Code of Silence Award for Outstanding Achievement in Government Secrecy is awarded annually by the Centre for Free Expression, Canadian Association of Journalists, and Canadian Journalists for Free Expression to call public attention to governments, government departments and agencies that distinguish themselves by denying public access to government information to which the public has a right under access-to-information legislation.

Awards are given annually in four categories

  • Federal Government and federal departments, agencies, boards and commissions;
  • Provincial governments and provincial government departments, boards, agencies, and commissions; 
  • Municipal governments and municipal government departments, boards, agencies, and commissions; 
  • Police Services and Law Enforcement agencies

Nominations for the Code of Silence Award can be made by any member of the public. The nomination form (see below) should be completed no later than December 31st of each year. For further inquiries please contact Ange Holmes, Coordinator of the Centre for Free Expression:

Nomination Form
List of Recipients


Federal: Department of National Defence
Provincial: Nova Scotia Premier's Office
Municipal: Vancouver Fire Rescue Services (VFRS)


Federal: Canada Border Services Agency
Provincial: Quebec’s criminal court system
Municipal: City of Prince George
Law Enforcement: Toronto Police Service


Federal: Indigenous Services Canada
Provincial: Provincial Government of B.C.
Municipal: Stratford City Council
Law Enforcement: Royal Canadian Mounted Police


Federal: Federal Cabinet​
Provincial: Quebec Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks
Municipal: City of North Bay
Law Enforcement: Ottawa Police Services


Federal: Environment and Climate Change Canada
Provincial: Government of Alberta
Municipal: Town of Erin, Ontario
Law Enforcement: Police forces in Sudbury, Windsor, Peterborough, Longueuil, Quebec City, the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary, and the Ontario Provincial Police


Federal: Finance Minister Bill Morneau
Provincial: Ambulance New Brunswick
Municipal: Regional Municipality of Niagara
Law Enforcement: (Not awarded)


Federal: Treasury Board of Canada
Provincial: Saskatchewan Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure
Municipal: Toronto Hydro
Law Enforcement: Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)